Warnings

Q: Can I undo warnings that I've sent to users?
A: You can't undo a warning, but a user's warning level is not permanent and is eventually reset to zero. Warnings are also not kept on any kind of permanent record.

Back to Top

Q: What can I do when a particular user keeps warning me?
A: Don't send any messages to that user. You can only be warned by someone if you send that user a message.

Back to Top

Q: Why is a user able to warn me after I've sent the user an Instant Message, even though I've blocked the user?
A: If you send an Instant Message to another user and then blocked that user, the user can still warn you one or more times for messages that you've already sent. (Blocking the other user prevents both of you from seeing each other in your Buddy Lists, and it also prevents both of you from sending each other any more messages.)

Back to Top

Q: How do I keep from being warned when I set myself as Away? (Windows only)
A: Go into the Away sheet in Preferences, and choose the "Insert in personal profile only" option. This will let other users see your Away message by doing a Get Info on you, but your Away message will not be sent out when other users IM you.

Back to Top

Q: Why does my Buddy's warning level appear differently in the Instant Message window than in the Buddy List window?
A: Warning levels shown in the Buddy List window are updated frequently, but when you have an Instant Message window open with another user, the warning level shown in that Instant Message window is only updated when the other user sends you more text.

Back to Top